1st South East European Conference on Sustainable Development of Energy, Water and Environment Systems - SEE SDEWES Ohrid 2014

29 June - 3 July, 2014,  Ohrid, Republic of Macedonia
The local organizing committee wishes to thank all participants for a very successfull conference!

You can find some of the images in the gallery. Additionally, you can also download plenary lectures' presentations as well as all the presentations from the panels.

Please beware of invitations for publishing from journals not related to the conference! Official invitation will be distributed only from the sdewes conference email, and will have a conference header and an option to accept or decline the invitation.

For all attendees who have submitted a full paper which is included in the proceedings, please cite it as follows:

N1. Surname1, N2. Surname2, other authors, Title, Proceedings of the 1st South East Europe Conference on Sustainable Development of Energy, Water and Environment Systems, SEESDEWES2014.nnnn, 1-m (2014)
(where "nnnn" is your submission code and "m" is the page count of your submission)

If you attended the conference, make sure you log in into the conference system and fill our post-conference survey.

Note that some changes can still be made to the schedule. If you have any doubts or questions on the schedule do send an email to ohrid2014@sdewes.org

find your session:
(enter paper id or surname and hit Enter)

Sunday, June 29
1500 - 1900
1930 - 2200
Welcome reception
Monday, June 30
830 - 1000
1000 - 1100
Opening session (ROOM A)
Chair: Prof. Natasha Markovska
  • Prof. Maria da Graça Carvalho, Chair of the SDEWES International Scientific Committee 
  • Dr. Teodora Obradovic Grncarovska, State Counselor on Climate Change, Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning
  • Representative of City of Ohrid, tbc
  • Representative of Macedonian Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • Prof. Neven Duic, President of the SDEWES International Center
1100 - 1130
Coffe break
1130 - 1230
1230 - 1330
1330 - 1530
Energy system analysis (ROOM B)
Co-chair(s): Dr. Paweł Gładysz
Renewable energy sources 1 (ROOM C)
Chair: Prof. Jurij Avsec
Co-chair(s): Mr. Boris Ćosić
Water policy and the energy-water interaction (ROOM E)
Chair: Prof. Vladimir Strezov
Co-chair(s): Mr. Stijepo Ljubimir
Food and agriculture (ROOM F)
Chair: Dr. Petar Varbanov
1530 - 1600
Coffe break
1600 - 1730
Tuesday, July 1
900 - 1000
Plenary lecture: Dr. Petar Varbanov (ROOM A)
Chair: Prof. Zvonimir Guzović
1000 - 1030
Coffe break
1030 - 1230
Waste management (ROOM B)
Chair: Prof. Daniel Rolph Schneider
Co-chair(s): Mr. Thomas Phelan
Alternative fuels and energy conversion systems 1 (ROOM C)
Chair: Dr. chang soo kim
Co-chair(s): Prof. Luka Perković
Energy and environment (ROOM D)
Chair: Prof. Andrzej Ziebik
Co-chair(s): Dr. Mirko Stojiljković
Renewable energy sources 2 (ROOM E)
Chair: Prof. Nikola Rajakovic
Co-chair(s): Mr. Tomislav Novosel
Sustainable resource management (ROOM F)
Chair: Prof. Sanja Filipović
Co-chair(s): Ms. Urška Novosel
1230 - 1330
1400 - 2300
Social event


Wednesday, July 2
900 - 1000
Plenary lecture: Prof. Michael Narodoslawsky (ROOM A)
Chair: Prof. Daniel Rolph Schneider
1000 - 1030
Coffe break
1030 - 1230
Energy efficiency (ROOM B)
Chair: Dr. Wojciech Kostowski
Co-chair(s): Mr. Robert Mikulandric
Alternative fuels and energy conversion systems 2 (ROOM C)
Chair: Prof. soo-jeong shin
Co-chair(s): Mr. Goran Gašparović
Socioeconomic dimension (ROOM D)
Chair: Prof. Şiir KILKIŞ
Co-chair(s): Dr. Zvonimir Petranović
Smart energy systems (ROOM E)
Chair: Prof. Dimitar Dimitrov
Co-chair(s): Dr. Verica Taseska-Gjorgievska
1230 - 1330
1330 - 1530
R&D and innovation (ROOM A)
Chair: Prof. Irina Mladenoska
Co-chair(s): Mr. Ilija Sazdovski
Modeling and optimization (ROOM B)
Chair: Dr. Stanislaw Anweiler
Co-chair(s): Dr. Aleksandar Dedinec
Sustainability assessments and metrics (ROOM C)
Chair: Dr. Nicola Cantore
Co-chair(s): Mr. Nikola Šahović
Wastewater treatment (ROOM D)
Chair: Prof. Svetlana Stevovic
Co-chair(s): Mr. Greg McNamara
Low carbon power supply (ROOM E)
Chair: Prof. Meng-Chieh, J. Lee
Co-chair(s): Mr. Kasım Zor
1530 - 1600
Coffe break
1600 - 1730
1730 - 1830
Awards and closure (ROOM A)
Thursday, July 3
900 - 1900
Technical visit